Winners: 2012 Simone Awards

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

BLUE SPRINGS, Mo. — The award for most outstanding football player in Missouri was presented to Dalvin Warmack of Blue Springs on Tuesday.

Warmack, a high school junior,  received the 30th Annual Thomas A. Simone Memorial Award. The Simone Awards were voted on by the 12-member committee of head coaches of the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association.

Warmack rushed for nearly 2,300 yards and a school-record 40 touchdowns. Warmack also set three new single-game Blue Springs marks by rushing for 415 yards and six touchdowns, plus a 50-yard touchdown catch for seven total, in an 84-62 win over Lee’s Summit.

Warmack is just the second junior to win the Simone Award, joining Nathan Scheelhaase of Rockhurst in 2007. He’s the fourth player from Blue Springs to win the Simone Award but the first since Ladell Betts in 1996.

The three other finalists for the Simone Award were Trent Hosick of Staley, Steven McBee of Fort Osage and Brad Strauss of Lawrence.

Other winners:

Max Mickey of Holden received the 14th Annual Frank Fontana Award, given to the most outstanding small class football player in the metro.

Elijah Lee of Blue Springs received the 21st Annual Buck Buchanan Memorial Award, given to the best lineman/linebacker in Missouri’s and Kansas’ top two classes.

Maliek Collins of Center received the 13th Annual Bobby Bell Award , given to the best lineman/linebacker in Missouri’s and Kansas’ smallest four classes.

Craig Scott of park Hill South received the 6th Annual Otis Taylor Award, given to the best tight end/wide receiver int he metro area.

Max Galeassi, a senior linebacker from Harrisonville, received the 2nd Annual Nathan Stiles Inspiration Award, in memory of the Spring Hill football player who died in 2010 after collapsing on the field. Galeassi is a cancer survivor, fighting testicular cancer in June.

Tim Callaghan of Shawnee Mission West was the Metro Sports Kansas Coach of the Year.

The Metro Sports Missouri Coach of the Year was Kelly Donohoe of Blue Springs.

The Gordon Docking Media Award went to Shawn Beldin of Metro Sports.

Hassan Burnett, a senior quarterback from East High School, won the Interscholastic League Award.

The 2012 All-Simone Team (* represents two-time selections):

  • Quarterback – Montel Cozart, Senior, Bishop Miege*
  • Quarterback – Trent Hosick, Senior, Staley*
  • Quarterback – Steven McBee, Senior, Fort Osage
  • Quarterback – Brad Strauss, Senior, Lawrence*
  • Quarterback – James Valentine, Senior, Platte County
  • Running Back – Antwynn Beavers, Senior, Liberty North*
  • Running Back – Max Mickey, Senior, Holden
  • Running Back – Anthony Sherrils, Senior, Hogan Prep
  • Running Back – Brett Sterbach, Senior, Shawnee Mission West
  • Running Back – Dalvin Warmack, Junior, Blue Springs
  • Wide Receiver – Connor Rellihan, Senior, Shawnee Mission East
  • Wide Receiver – Craig Scott, Senior, Park Hill South
  • Wide Receiver – Scottie Wilson, Senior, Platte County
  • Wide Receiver – Darrius Shepherd, Junior, Blue Springs
  • Offensive Lineman – Austin Chambers, Junior, Shawnee Mission West
  • Offensive Lineman – Jacob Francis, Junior, Liberty
  • Offensive Lineman – Zach Hannon, Senior, Rockhurst
  • Offensive Lineman – Tyler Reid, Senior, Lee’s Summit West
  • Offensive Lineman – Clay Rhodes, Senior, Blue Valley
  • Offensive Lineman – Braden Smith, Junior, Olathe South
  • Offensive Lineman – John Keltner, Senior, Blue Springs
  • Defensive Lineman – Nick Becker, Senior, Eudora
  • Defensive Lineman – Maliek Collins, Senior, Center
  • Defensive Lineman – Dan Morin, Senior, St. Thomas Aquinas
  • Defensive Lineman – Lane Pennington, Senior, Lee’s Summit West
  • Defensive Lineman – Jordan Willis, Senior, Rockhurst
  • Defensive Lineman – Elijah Lee, Junior, Blue Springs
  • Linebacker – Joe Dominiak, Senior, Smithville
  • Linebacker – Bradley Ivey, Junior, Bishop Miege
  • Linebacker – Matt Plank, Senior, Gardner-Edgerton
  • Linebacker – Nick Ramirez, Senior, Lee’s Summit West*
  • Linebacker – Mamu Tauiautusa, Senior, Fort Osage
  • Defensive Back – Cole Combes, Senior, Blue Valley
  • Defensive Back – Walter Eastwood, Senior, Harrisonville
  • Defensive Back – Andre Maloney, Junior, Shawnee Mission West
  • Defensive Back – Kyle McFarland, Senior, Lawrence Free State
  • Defensive Back – Joseph Tuimaseve, Senior, Fort Osage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

1 Comment