This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Multiple school districts across the Kansas City metro have announced they will be closed Thursday due to the upcoming winter storm.

The FOX4 Weather Team said temperatures will start falling Wednesday night and snow will return between midnight and 6 a.m. Thursday around the region.

Snow showers will end completely by midday Friday. Totals for the area will range between 4-8 inches through the Interstate 70 corridor, with lesser totals to the southeast and extreme northern counties. 

Most of the Kansas City area will be under a Winter Storm Warning beginning at 9 p.m. Wednesday through 6 a.m. Friday.

Kansas City Public Schools said there will be no school Thursday for students and that there will be no virtual learning.

Lee’s Summit Schools announced there will be no in-person or virtual learning for Thursday. The school district also announced Kindergarten kickoff events will be postponed until Tuesday, March 15, from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Olathe Schools announced it will be closed for elementary and middle school students. High school students will have a remote learning day.

Shawnee Mission and Blue Valley schools will also be closed in Johnson County due to weather.

Kansas City, Kansas Public Schools said there will be no school for students and staff.

Independence, Liberty and Raytown have also announced schools will be closed Thursday.

Blue Springs, Kearney and Park Hill schools will have an AMI day with learning continuing at home for students.

Center School District buildings will be closed Thursday. The district said this will be an AMI day with lessons posted for students to complete from home.

The Hickman Mills School District announced Thursday will be a virtual learning day for students.

The University of Missouri-Kansas City will conduct remote operations on Thursday due to inclement weather.

Park University has announced that all Kansas City area offices will be closed Thursday due to weather.

Lawrence, De Soto, Gardner-Edgerton, Bonner Springs, Basehor-Linwood, Leavenworth and Lansing schools in Kansas will be closed Thursday.

The Eudora School District said it will make a decision on closing Thursday morning.

All Johnson County, Kansas Library locations will be closed Thursday due to weather conditions.

FOX4 will continue to keep you updated as more closings and delays are announced.