Missouri seeking major disaster declaration after deadly tornadoes

Missouri News

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — Missouri Gov. Mike Parson on Tuesday requested FEMA declare a major disaster so the state can access federal help recovering from deadly tornadoes that hit this month.

If granted, the designation will allow seven southern Missouri counties to access federal assistance repairing damaged buildings and other infrastructure.

Parson requested the disaster declaration for Bollinger, Dunklin, Iron, Madison, Pemiscot, Reynolds, and Wayne counties.

State and local officials estimated that federal assistance could be available for more than $27 million in public infrastructure repairs and emergency response expenses, according to Parson’s office.

The Dec. 10 tornado killed at least two people in Missouri. The same storm system also generated tornadoes that killed dozens of people in four other states with the worst damage in Kentucky.

📲 Download the FOX4 News app to stay updated on the go.
📧 Sign up for FOX4 Kansas City email alerts to have breaking news sent to your inbox.
💻 Find today’s top stories on fox4kc.com for Kansas City and all of Missouri and Kansas.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Kansas City Weather News

Trending Stories


More News

Digital First

More digital first