Three Royals honored as American League Gold Glove winners

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — With four players nominated, the Kansas City Royals dominated the American League Gold Glove Awards, which were handed on Tuesday night. Alex Gordon, Eric Hosmer and Salvador Perez were all repeat winners with shortstop Alcides Escobar being the sole KC nominee not to win.

Left fielder Gordon won his fourth-consecutive Gold Glove and finished among the top 10 players in Major League Baseball in defensive wins above replacement. Gordon finished ninth according to that metric, behind teammate Lorenzo Cain who finished sixth.

Cain wasn’t nominated due to eligibility rules. The outfielder didn’t play enough games at a single position as he split time between center field and right field last season.

First baseman Hosmer won his second-consecutive award, posting a .991 fielding percentage while only committing 10 errors this past season.  Catcher Perez also won his second-consecutive award, posting a .992 fielding percentage and only committing 9 errors in 2014.

Escobar lost out to Baltimore Orioles’ shortstop J.J. Hardy, who wins his third-consecutive Gold Glove. Hardy becomes the first shortstop to win three straight awards at the position since former New York Yankee Derek Jeter did so between between 2004-2006.


Oklahoma High School Scores



More News