31st annual Simone Awards announced

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

BLUE SPRINGS, Mo. -- With the season over, the Kansas City High School Football community awarded the best of the best on Tuesday with the 31st annual Simone Awards.

The Simone Award itself, given annually to the most outstanding football player in the Kansas City metropolitan area, was Dalvin Warmack of Blue Springs.

The three other finalists for the Simone Award were Brock Broughton of Kearney, Drew Lock of Lee’s Summit and Traevohn Wrench of Gardner-Edgerton.

Warmack became the first player to win the Simone Award two times. His numbers this year were nearly identical to his Simone winning season in 2012. He carried 251 times for 2,221 yards and 30 touchdowns and caught 20 passes for 347 yards and another three scores. In two seasons as the full-time feature back, Warmack ran for 4,500 yards and 70 TDs. More importantly, in those seasons the Wildcats went 27-1 and won back-to-back Missouri Class 6 state titles.

The winner of the 15th Annual Frank Fontana Award, given to the most outstanding small class (MO 1-4, KS 1A-4A) football player in the metro, was Josh Shewmaker of Pleasant Hill. The three other finalists for the Fontana Award were Chad Berg of Baldwin, Aaron Graham of Oak Grove and Austin Tevis of Holden.

The winner of the 22nd Annual Buck Buchanan Memorial Award, presented by the Kansas City Chiefs Ambassadors and given to the best lineman/linebacker in Missouri’s and Kansas’ top two classes (MO 5-6, KS 5A-6A), was Elijah Lee of Blue Springs. The three other finalists for the Buchanan Award were Braden Smith of Olathe South, Jimmie Swain of Olathe North and Josh Watson of Blue Springs South.

The winner of the 14th Annual Bobby Bell Award, given to the best lineman/linebacker in Missouri’s and Kansas’ smallest four classes (MO 1-4, KS 1A-4A), was Colton Beebe of Piper. The three other finalists for the Bell Award were Ryan Franks of Hogan Prep, Ethan Fugitt of Oak Grove and Casey McDermott of Raytown South.

The Simone Awards were voted on by the member head coaches of the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association (GKCFCA) and a 12-member media committee.



More News