Watson, Thirsk headline 2013 Golf Hall of Fame

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

by Taylor Dawson

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The inaugural Kansas City Golf Hall of Fame is headlined by local legends Tom Watson and Stan Thirsk, two of the seven individuals selected by the Kansas City Golf Association.

The Kansas City Golf Association Board voted and selected only seven of the eleven total candidates.

Last year, the Hall of Fame was created by the Kansas City Golf Association in order to recognize the accomplishments of amateur and professional golfers, teaching professionals, golf course superintendents, and pioneers of the game.

“As stewards of the game, we believe it is our responsibility to preserve and recognize those who built the foundation of excellence on which we stand,” said President Dick Sauer.

Along with Thirsk and Watson, the other inductees are Opal Hill, Leland Gibson, Bob Reid, Miriam Burns Tyson and Chester Mendenhall.

The honorees will be inducted on Nov. 23.

Tracking Coronavirus

More Tracking Coronavirus



More News