All 555 school districts in Missouri close voluntarily, Gov. Parson announces

Tracking Coronavirus
This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — As of Thursday, all 555 school districts in Missouri are now voluntarily closed due to the coronavirus outbreak.

This includes all public and charter schools. The closures affect more than 914,000 students, according to the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

Unlike in Kansas, Gov. Mike Parson has not forced schools in Missouri to close. The closures are all voluntary.

However, the length of each district’s closure varies.

To help navigate the changes, DESE has created an interactive map showing all the districts statewide. It includes the date those districts reported they closed and when they plan, at this time, to reopen. As changes are made, the map will be updated, DESE said.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories


More News

Digital First

More digital first